Memphis, Tennessee

August 15, 2021


What is Heart of the King? What are the Heart of the King Awards? It’s about heart. It’s about a legend. It’s about the King.

The King left a legacy unmatched by any other musician in history. His life, his memory, his music is celebrated across the country and across the world by dedicated and talented artists who pay him tribute.

These are the men (and women), adults and children, we know as ETAs.

The Heart of the King Awards was first held at the old Las Vegas Hilton.  It was founded in 2011 to honor a select few ETAs and festival producers that professionally and tastefully represent the life and legacy of The King. We especially honor  performers that demonstrate, on stage, off stage and in their daily lives, a respectful tribute and genuinely put the Heart of the King into every performance. The Concert portion of the event will give the award recipients a chance to showcase their talent for  all of us to enjoy.

Like the Academy Awards, past HOTK recipients are the only ones who can nominate future awardees. Our goal is for the Heart of the King Awards to become an annual “Oscar Ceremony” for the Tribute world. 

2021 Heart of the King Awardees:

2021 Heart of the King Awards

2021 Heart of the King, Horizon Awards

2021 Heart of the King, Producers Awards

2021 Heart of the King, Lifetime Achievement Awards


Previous Heart of the King Award Recipients:

  • Shawn Klush (2011)
  • Brandon Bennett (2011)
  • Bill Cherry (2011)
  • Trent Carlini (2011)
  • Dwight Icenhower (2011)
  • Ben Portsmouth (2013)
  • Justin Shandor (2013)
  • Dean Z (2014)
  • Ted Torres (2014)
  • Jay Dupuis (2019)
  • Ben Thompson (2019)
  • Mark Anthony (2019)

Horizon Award for best new ETA Recipients:

  • Cody Slaughter (2011)
  • Tyler Hunter (2013)
  • Travis Powell (2014)
  • Cote Deonath (2019)
  • Taylor Rodriguez (2019)

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients:

  • Rick Saucedo (2011)
  • Doug Church (2013)
  • Garry Wesley (2013)
  • Johnny Harra (Posthumous) (2013)
  • Johnny Spence (Posthumous) (2013)
  • Orion (Posthumous) (2014)
  • Terry Collins (2018)
  • Irv Cass (2019)
  • Robert Washington (2019)

Producers Award Recipients:

  • Johnny Stuart (2013)
  • Edward “Doc” Franklin (Posthumous) (2013)
  • Sondra Kay Lipps (2014)

Honorary Heart of the King Award Recipient:

  • “Party” Artie Dadyan (posthumous) (2019)